The mystery over the botequim being shut has reveled itself.

I must admit, that fearing the worst had crossed my mind. I am so glad to report that it was nothing as nefarious as it could have been.

The local futbol (soccer) club, which has its base in the bar because most of the members are regulars, have gone on a trip to play football and do some cavorting, Raimundo too.

nail

The tab

Now there is another bar on the other side of the creek. It’s not that I am too lazy to walk that far, but, although I am known there, I don’t drink there.

As I was broke, the other bar/shop doesn’t have a prego (nail), so I couldn’t say, “Bota no prego,” (“Put it on the tab”) and walk out like I can at Raimundo’s.

The problem has been solved, however. A neighbour was going to the supermarket where they have an ATM, so I got a lift there and back. The neighbours here are so good.

Yesterday was hot, 43ºC. today is already the same. So I am loathe to go far. I’ll throw another slab of the rump steak on the hot plate, and I had the forethought to put beer in the fridge today.

Boy (10-12) using tablet pc

In all probability he can’t tie his shoe laces

Read a report this morning, more Canadian kids can navigate a tablet than tie their shoelaces… ah, isn’t technology a wonderful thing? I wonder when they’ll have an app for that?

A whopping 97% of Brazilian kids are on the net.

Yes, even some Indians in the Amazon have net via solar power and satellite.

There are  villages that have their own homepages. I have stumbled across some in my perambulations around the net.

18 month old Marius

18 month old Marius

The tragic case of Marius the giraffe in a Denmark zoo that was put down because of EU rules about inbreeding.

Despite a campaign to save him, and an offer from an English wildlife park to take him, the powers that be decided his fate.

To me it was a callous and needless sacrifice.

How about we check the genes of the arsehole that mad this decision, and if they are found wanting, put him down with a captive bolt gun.

There are people in this world who call themselves human, they have no right to.

2pm, time for lunch, beer and a nap; probably in that order.

Later

