I got burdened honoured with an award.

And it happened not twenty minutes after I had made the decision not to do any more of these.

But, Pecora Negra is such a nice bloke, I have decided to make this the last. I should really be napping. Also, I haven’t seen this award before.

The Woman’s Skirt Award, I suppose it’s better than being an old woman’s blouse…

Now I have to divulge eight things about myself…

1 :: All my life I have loved guns. Not for their ability to massacre, but the precision needed to put a small piece of metal exactly where you want it at a long distance. Yes, I did some hunting in my early twenties, but didn’t make a habit of it. At the age of 14 in air cadets I had mastered the art of shooting sufficiently that they gave me one of these to play with…

.303 Bren Mk II LMG

.303 Bren Mk II LMG

Boyhood doesn’t get much better.

2 :: I’m a high school dropout. Didn’t pass my school cert, thought bugger this, and left before the end of the year only to enlist in the Air Force at the age of 16 as, you guessed it, an armament mechanic; looking after guns and bombs and other stuff that went bang!

Emmylee eating icecream

Emmylee – Made in Brazil

3 :: I got married at 23 and my wife of 19 spent the next 3½ years pregnant.

4 :: Apart from the original three I added another 8 stepchildren along the way and made one more, Emmylee. Made in Brazil with New Zealand components.

5 :: For 11 years I lived out of a suitcase as I traveled around South America. The only counties I haven’t yet been to are Colombia and Venezuela.

6 :: I can fly. I flew gliders as a sport in the Air Force.

7 :: when I was about 8, I convinced my younger brother he could fly. We were in the hedge beside the kitchen, at the top. I told him if he flapped his arms he could leap serenely from our perch. He jumped just as our mother shouted DON’T! from the kitchen window. He broke his collarbone.

8 :: I have been an atheist since I was 12, so I don’t do Christmas, but wish all my visitors a Merry Quafftide.

Now this is as far as I go. I don’t nominate blogs for these awards, there are too many deserving ones out there. Not the only reason, but the last time I nominated 10 for a similar award, not one acknowledged the fact. So I don’t.

If you feel you would like to participate, steal it and do it. If not, no bones were broken in the process.

I went to the supermarket for some therapy this morning, so I didn’t get my customary nap, a lapse which I am about the rectify.

Later.