christmasspiritsI have said that I don’t ‘do’ Christmas, but I do celebrate Quafftide.

For this reason I am showing you my Christmas Spirits.

Yesterday my bossette gave me a bottle of Finca Alcayata Syrah, an Argentine wine from Mendoza.

I gave myself a bottle of Johnnie Walker Red Label (It was on special at the supermarket, $20 off normal price – irresistible).

Today is a short day. Normally my lessons start around 5pm, but today I have a 2pm, it just makes the day seem so short. So I am pounding the keys like a madman trying to get all my blogging done.

Emmylee Selfie

Emmylee doing a selfie

Selfies; do you know what a selfie is?

I hate them!

They must be the epitome of vanity; an ego trip. Photos everywhere today are selfies.

Even my daughter, Emmylee, leaves selfies on my cameras.

What’s with this selfie obsession?

It’s becoming harder and harder to understand the younger generation. It makes me wonder if I generated the same questions for my grandmother… I wonder what she would have blogged about if blogs were around in her days…

obama-castro-shake-hands

The gentlemanly thing to do

Obama was castigated for shaking hands at Mandela’s wake with Cuban dictator Raul Castro.

What was he to do on the spur of the moment at such a solemn occasion? Tell him to “F**k off!”

For me he did the right thing, the gentlemanly thing. I don’t agree with much everything that he has done, but this was done right.

The weather here hasn’t really recovered from last week, it’s still overcast and there is a threat of rain tonight and tomorrow. Still, I like it like this, I can drink hot coffee without sweating.

Time for more coffee, then that all important nap.

Later.

